如何克服 SharePoint Online 的限制?

您在从文件服务器迁移到 SharePoint Online 时是否遇到了限制?
您是否对 SharePoint 和 OneDrive 的限制感到沮丧?
您知道还有其他文件服务器迁移策略可以克服这些限制吗?

您知道这些 SharePoint Online 限制吗?

  • 5,000 项 - 当文档库中有大量项目时,性能会下降到无法使用的程度。
  • 300,000 项 - 这限制了用户可以使用 OneDrive 同步进行客户端同步的文档数量。 性能开始下降。
  • 400 个字符的 URL 限制 - 所有文件和文件夹的 URL 路径不得超过 400 个字符(URL 中的任何单个文件或文件夹名称不得超过 400 个字符)。

故事 #1 - 工程公司尝试使用 SharePoint

丹麦哥本哈根的一家建筑公司在丹麦和挪威有 3 个地点。文件服务器目前在现场有 7TB 的数据,但他们想摆脱文件服务器。这 3 个站点之间没有官方通信渠道,因此使用云解决方案来统一这 3 个站点才合理。

他们尝试了 SharePoint 和 OneDrive。起初它很好,因为 OneDrive Windows Explorer 的集成使得从 SharePoint 访问文件和文件夹变得很容易。然而,后来他们遇到了 AutoCAD 应用程序的问题。一个问题与文件锁定有关,另一个与单个文件中的外部引用有关。这不是 SharePoint/OneDrive 问题,而是 CAD 和 SharePoint 应用程序之间的应用程序兼容性问题。

SharePoint 存储成本是另一个问题。如果他们将所有 7 TB 的存储都放在 SharePoint 上,则每月的成本约为 1400 美元。该公司希望将不常用的文件存储在另一个系统中。他们想要一个能够解决文件锁定和外部引用问题的存储平台/解决方案,同时提供一种使用低成本存储服务(如 Amazon S3 和 Azure Blob 存储)的方法。

故事 #2 - 拥有 Mac 用户的设计公司

一家专门从事博物馆设计的设计公司使用 CAD 应用程序和 Adobe Creative Suite 的组合。 有Mac用户。 Mac 的文件名中包含 SharePoint 不支持的某些字符。 此外,Mac 文件路径可能比 256 或当前的 SharePoint 限制长得多。 您过去曾尝试过 SharePoint,但它不起作用。

故事 #3 - 将本地 NAS 迁移到 SharePoint

MSP 在帮助本地客户将本地 NAS 迁移到 SharePoint 时遇到 SharePoint 限制。

  • 该公司试图将超过 700,000 个文件从 Synology NAS 迁移到 SharePoint Online,以利用其 Office 365 订阅。
  • 数据集包含非常长的路径和文件名,这会阻止某些文件迁移。
  • OneDrive 同步客户端安装在 50 多台笔记本电脑上。
  • 同步一次会使他们的网络瘫痪数小时。
  • 微软指出,当有超过 100,000 个项目时,OneDrive 同步性能会下降,并建议该公司创建多个站点,每个站点少于 100,000 个项目。
  • 该公司认为重组成本和不确定性太高,并开始寻找可以处理其数据的替代方案。
您是否要将 700,000 个单独文件的原始存储库划分和重组为七个不同的 SharePoint 库? 重新培训员工以适应新的 SharePoint 在线位置的成本如何?

SharePoint 的限制是什么?

限制 #1:要同步的对象和库中的对象。

根据 SharePoint Online 文档

“虽然 SharePoint Online 可以在每个库中存储 3000 万个文档,但我们建议在所有文档库中同步不超过 300,000 个文件以获得最佳性能。此外,如果您要同步的所有库中有 300,000 个或更多项目,可能会出现相同的性能问题,即使您没有同步这些库中的所有项目...”

但是根据经验,在 100,000 个项目后性能开始下降。奇怪的是,这个数字也出现在其他上下文中的 SharePoint 文档中。无论是 30 万还是 10 万,底线是在许多文件较多的真实企业环境中,OneDrive 同步客户端存在严重的性能问题,迫使用户切换到 Web 界面。

与 OneDrive 同步限制相比,库中 5000 个查看项目的限制更加严格。当您在库中超过 5,000 个项目时,它几乎无法使用。

限制 #2:最大名称长度限制

将文件共享迁移到 SharePoint Online 时,此限制是另一个常见问题。它通常表现为这样的错误消息:

“指定的文件或文件夹名称太长。所有文件和文件夹的 URL 路径必须为 400 个字符或更少(URL 中的任何单个文件或文件夹名称不得超过 400 个字符)。请键入较短的文件或文件夹名称。"

对于不满足此要求的任何文件,迁移将失败。由于这是包含文档库的整个路径和名称的相对 URL 的上限,因此这种情况经常发生。结果是迁移不完整或中止。

当用户将 SharePoint Online 文档库与其 PC 同步时,您可能会遇到的另一个更严格的限制是 Windows PC 上的 256 个字符限制。错误消息可能如下所示:

“文件名对于目标文件夹来说太长。您可以缩短文件名并重试,或者尝试路径较短的位置”。

限制 #3:数据重组的高昂成本。

除了将文件服务器数据重新组织到不同文档库中的不同孤岛之外,重新组织权限也是一个令人头疼的问题。

以下引用解释了为什么有些人认为 SharePoint 不支持删除权限继承,即使另一些人指出它可以支持。这很令人困惑,因为虽然有支持,但仅适用于相对较小的数据集。文档说明:

“一个列表最多可以包含 3000 万个项目,一个库最多可以包含 3000 万个文件和文件夹。当列表、库或文件夹包含超过 100,000 个项目时,您不可以中断对列表、库或文件夹的权限继承。您也不能重新继承对其的权限。但是,您仍然可以中断对该列表、库或文件夹中的各个项目的继承,最多可达列表或库中的唯一权限的最大值...”

这可能会将权限迁移和管理变成一场数据重组的噩梦,以避免手动覆盖列表、库或文件夹中项目的权限继承。

如何克服 SharePoint 的限制以及有哪些替代方案?

如果 SharePoint 限制阻碍了您将文件服务器迁移到云,那么还有更好的方法!

替代解决方案 #1 - Lift and Shift

Lift and Shift 是一种迁移策略,它在 Azure、AWS 或区域托管数据中心创建另一组虚拟机,并将本地文件服务器上的数据移动到数据中心内的虚拟机。 数据迁移完成后,文件服务器的DNS名称可以从本地文件服务器快速切换到云端文件服务器。 在这类过程中,lift-and-shift 也称为重新托管。 这是一种将数据从本地迁移到云端的相对快速且性价比高的方式,最好的部分是它在 DNS 重定向后向后兼容。

替代解决方案 #2 - 混合云和本地文件服务器

当办公室的互联网速度很快时,Lift-and-shift 更容易。 因此,办公室防火墙和云虚拟网络之间的站点到站点 VPN 就像本地网络的一部分。

混合云文件服务器很好地平衡了本地文件服务器和云文件服务器,因此本地办公室的员工仍然可以通过本地网络使用文件服务器。

为什么当 SharePoint 不起作用时 Triofox 会有所帮助?

Triofox方案

通过 Gladinet Triofox 解决方案,云文件访问解决方案可与现有文件服务器网络共享互操作,并提供脱机文件夹功能。 它包括与 Active Directory 的集成、云驱动器映射、全局文件锁定和 NTFS 权限控制。 这些集成使文件共享解决方案成为当前文件服务器的扩展,而不是另一个带走数据的数据孤岛。

映射驱动器

通过 HTTPS 通道将驱动器映射到公司文件服务器是一项关键功能。 员工熟悉映射的驱动器,因此不需要额外培训。

Active Directory

公司用户在 Active Directory 和相关的 Active Directory 联合身份验证服务以及 SAML 单点登录中已经具有公司身份。 他们不需要另一套凭据即可访问文件共享解决方案。

文件锁定

大多数文件共享解决方案以“文件签入”和“签出”的形式提供手动文件锁定。 Gladinet 通过检测文件打开请求提供自动文件锁定。 当 Microsoft Word 打开文件时,文件锁定过程将自动启动,并在文件编辑完成时自动完成。

文件权限

最后,与 Active Directory 和 NTFS 权限集成使系统管理员可以更轻松地设置权限控制。 权限功能使 Gladinet 解决方案在同行中脱颖而出。

我们如何才能克服这些限制?

  1. 文件服务器保持原样 - 我们为您现有的文件服务器添加了一个云层,以启用对 Active Directory 和 SMB/CIFS 协议的 HTTPS 访问。 您的文件服务器没有这样的限制。
  2. 云存储服务 - 我们使用云存储服务,例如 Amazon S3 和 Windows Azure Blob 存储。 这些服务具有高度全局可扩展性。
  3. 避免同步 - 100% 文件同步对于企业数据来说是个糟糕的主意。 首先,数据踪迹巨大。 其次,它根本不安全,并且提供了更大的攻击面。 按需同步更适合商业用途。

以下功能可以帮助员工快速上手和运行。

云驱动器映射

驱动器映射是在线文件访问的重要功能。 终端用户可以通过 Internet 从映射驱动器轻松拖放文件和文件夹。 驱动器映射还有助于管理外部文件引用。

全局文件锁定

文件锁定是在线文件访问和团队协作避免冲突的重要功能。 终端用户需要通过使用文件锁定来控制对文件的全局并发在线访问,以保持一致性。

无缝过渡

从 Active Directory 身份到 NTFS 文件权限以及文件夹保护,员工熟悉的所有内容都保持不变,就好像没有任何变化一样。 相似且一致的用户界面方法最大限度地减少了用户学习曲线。

以下的功能可以为您提供类似 SharePoint 的用户体验。

工作效率

使您的团队更轻松地与客户成功协作:

微软Outlook集成

无需将文件作为Outlook附件发送,而是可以将文件和文件夹以链接的形式通过Outlook共享。

发送大文件

通过仅发送所做的更改而不是同步整个文件来提高大文件传输的性能。

共享文件和文件夹

文件和文件夹可以变成网络链接,并从网络浏览器或任何移动客户端访问。

接收文件和文件夹

可以为基于网络浏览器的上传生成网络链接以接收文件和文件夹。

高级共享

可以将过期日期和读/写权限等策略附加到文件共享。

桌面集成

共享文件就像在Windows资源管理器中右键单击文件一样容易。

安全性

安全数据室

共享文件夹具有可选的安全数据室功能,以启用禁用下载的仅查看权限。

粒度文件夹

为目录结构的不同级别的文件夹定义不同的权限。

域控制

目标电子邮件域是白名单参数之一,用于控制谁可以接收文件共享邀请。

IP 地址控制

目标 IP 地址是另一个参数,用于控制谁可以作为文件共享操作的接收者。

协作

共同编辑

与Office365集成以利用内置的共同编辑功能。

通知

跟踪系统中的重要更改和事件。

您想让您的远程工作人员可以用到这些功能吗?

离线编辑

传统 VPN 需要与企业防火墙建立稳定且活跃的连接才能运行。 Internet 中断或防火墙连接中断会中断员工处理未保存文件的工作。 通过离线编辑,远程工作人员可以在没有连接的情况下保存和编辑文档,并在连接恢复后将文件异步保存到公司文件服务器。

永远在线

防火墙供应商通常提供的 VPN没有永远在线功能。 永远在线的 VPN 需要更多的基础设施组件,如身份服务器、身份验证服务器、兼容的客户端操作系统等。 然而,大多数现代云应用程序都是永远在线的,允许离线访问文件和文件夹,并在与在线服务器同步之前将文件存储在本地设备上。

高性能

访问文件服务器几乎不可能是高性能的,因为当 VPN 作为启动器时,文件访问是通过 SMB/CIFS 协议完成的。 首先,SMB 协议是一个不允许有很多请求和响应的数据流协议。 如果我们可以切换到 HTTP 流进行文件传输,性能将会提高。 其次,基于 HTTP 的文件传输流量可以利用全球内容交付网络,因此跨大陆传输的 HTTP 速度更快。

提高移动员工的远程工作效率!

How to Overcome SharePoint Online Limitations?

Are you encountering limitations when migrating from file servers to SharePoint Online?
Are you frustrated by the limitations of SharePoint and OneDrive?
Do you know that there are other file server migration strategies to overcome these limitations?

Do you know about these SharePoint Online limitations?

  • 5,000 item - Having a large number of objects in a document library degrades performance to the point where it becomes unusable. 
  • 300,000 item - This limits the number of documents users can sync using OneDrive sync client. Performance starts to degrade.
  • 400 Character URL Limit - The URL path for all files and folders can be no more than 400 characters (and no more than 400 characters for a single file or folder name in the URL). 

Story #1 - Engineering firm experimenting with SharePoint

An architectural firm in Copenhagen, Denmark, has 3 locations at Denmark and Norway. The file server is currently on site with 7TB of data, but they want to get rid of the file server. There are no official communication channels between the 3 sites, so using a cloud solution to unify the 3 sites makes sense.

They experimented with SharePoint and OneDrive. At first it was good because the integration of OneDrive Windows Explorer makes it easy to access files and folders from SharePoint. Later, however, they ran into problems with the AutoCAD application. One problem is related to file locking, the other to external references within a single file. This is not a SharePoint/OneDrive issue, but rather an application compatibility issue between the CAD and SharePoint applications.

SharePoint storage costs are another issue. If they had put all 7 TB of storage on SharePoint, it would have cost about $1400/month. The company wants less frequently used files to be stored in another system. They want a storage platform/solution that solves the file locking and external referencing problem while providing a way to use lower cost storage services like Amazon S3 and Azure Blob Storage.


Story #2 - Design firm with Mac Users

A design firm specializing in museum design uses a mix of CAD applications and Adobe Creative Suite. There are Mac users. Mac has certain characters in the file name that SharePoint does not support. Also, the Mac file path could be much longer than 256 or the current SharePoint limitation. You have tried SharePoint in the past but it did not work.

Story #3 - Migrate local NAS to SharePoint 

An MSP is helping a local customer migrate a local NAS to SharePoint and runs into SharePoint limitations.

  • The company was trying to migrate more than 700,000 files from a Synology NAS to SharePoint Online to leverage its Office 365 subscription.
  • The dataset contained very long paths and file names, which prevented some files from migrating.
  • The OneDrive sync client was installed on over 50 laptops.
  • The sync brings their network down for hours at a time.
  • Microsoft pointed out that OneDrive sync performance degrades when there are more than 100,000 items and advised the company to create multiple sites, each with fewer than 100,000 items.
  • The company decided that the cost of restructuring and the uncertainty were too high, and began looking for alternatives that could work with their data.
"Do you want to divide and reorganize the original repository of 700,000 individual files into seven different SharePoint libraries? What about the cost of retraining staff to get used to the new SharePoint online locations?"

What are the limitations of SharePoint?

Limit #1: Objects to be synchronized and objects in the library.

According to the SharePoint Online documentation:

"Although SharePoint Online can store 30 million documents per library, we recommend synchronizing no more than 300,000 files across all document libraries for optimal performance. Also, the same performance issues can occur if you have 300,000 items or more in all the libraries you want to sync, even if you do not sync all the items in those libraries..."

But from experience, performance starts to drop after 100,000 items. And oddly enough, that number shows up in SharePoint documentation in other contexts as well. Whether it's 300,000 or 100,000, the bottom line is that in many real-world enterprise environments with more files, the OneDrive sync client has serious performance issues, forcing users to switch to the Web interface. 

Compared to the OneDrive sync limitation, the 5000 view item limit in a library is even stricter. The moment you exceed 5,000 items in a library, it becomes almost unusable. 

Limit #2: Limit on maximum name length

This limit is another common problem when migrating file shares to SharePoint Online. It usually manifests itself in an error message like this:

"The specified file or folder name is too long. The URL path for all files and folders must be 400 characters or less (and no more than 400 characters for any single file or folder name in the URL). Please type a shorter file or folder name."

The migration will fail for any files that do not meet this requirement. And since this is the upper limit for the relative URL containing the entire path and name of the document library, this happens far too often. The result is an incomplete or aborted migration.

Another, even more stringent limit you may encounter is the 256-character limit on your Windows PC, when users synchronize SharePoint Online document libraries with their PCs. The error message may look like the following:

"The file name(s) would be too long for the destination folder. You can shorten the file name and try again, or try a location that has a shorter path".

Limit #3: Prohibitive Costs of data reorganization.

In addition to reorganizing file server data into different silos in different document libraries, reorganizing permissions is also a major headache.

The following quotes explain why some people believe that SharePoint does not support the removal of permissions inheritance, while others point out that it does. It's confusing because the support is there, but only for relatively small data sets. The documentation explains:

"A list can have up to 30 million items, and a library can have up to 30 million files and folders. When a list, library, or folder contains more than 100,000 items, you can't break permissions inheritance on the list, library, or folder. Nor can you re-inherit permissions on it. However, you can still break inheritance on the individual items within that list, library, or folder, up to the maximum number of unique permissions in the list or library..."

This can turn permissions migration and management into a data reorganization nightmare to avoid manually overriding the inheritance of permissions for items in the list, library, or folder.  

How to overcome SharePoint's limitations and what are the alternatives?

If the SharePoint limitations are holding you back from migrating file servers to Cloud, there is a better way!

Alternative Solution #1 - Lift and Shift

Lift-and-Shift is a migration strategy that creates another set of virtual machines in Azure, AWS, or a regional co-location data center and moves the data on the on-premises file server to the virtual machines in the data centers. Once the data migration is complete, the DNS name for the file server can be quickly switched from the on-premises file server to the file server in the cloud. In this type of procedure, lift-and-shift is also known as rehosting. It is a relatively fast and cost-effective way to migrate data from on-premises to the cloud, and the best part is that it is backward compatible after DNS redirection.

Alternative Solution #2 - Hybrid Cloud and Local File Server

Lift-and-shift is easier when the Internet in the office is fast. Therefore, a site-to-site VPN between the office firewall and the cloud virtual network acts like part of the local network.

The hybrid cloud file server is a good balance between the local file server and the cloud file server, so employees in the local office can still use the file server over a local network.

Why Triofox helps when SharePoint doesn't work?

Triofox Solution

With the Gladinet Triofox solution, the cloud file access solution is interoperable with existing file server network shares and provides offline folder capabilities. It includes integration with Active Directory, cloud drive mapping, global file locking and NTFS permission control. These native integrations make the file sharing solution an extension of the current file server rather than another data silo that takes away data.

Mapped Drive

Mapped drive over the HTTPS channel to the corporate file server is a crucial feature. Employees are familiar with a mapped drive, and no additional training is required.

Active Directory

Corporate users already have corporate identities in Active Directory and related Active Directory federation service and SAML single-sign-on. They don't need yet another set of credentials to access a file-sharing solution.

File Locking

Most file-sharing solutions offer manual file locking in the forms of "file check-in" and "check out." Gladinet provides automatic file locking by detecting file opening requests. When Microsoft Word opens a file, the file locking process will be initiated automatically and finished automatically when the file editing finishes.

File Permissions

Finally, integrating with Active Directory and NTFS permission makes it easier for system administrators to set up the permission control. The permission features make the Gladinet solution stands out among its peers.

How can we overcome these limitations?

  1. File Server AS-IS - We add a cloud layer to your existing file server to enable HTTPS access for Active Directory and SMB/CIFS protocols. Your file server has no such restriction. 
  2. Cloud Storage Services - We use cloud storage services such as Amazon S3 and Windows Azure blob storage. These services are highly scalable globally. 
  3. Avoid Synchronization - 100% file synchronization is a terrible idea for enterprise data. First, the data footprint is huge. Second, it is not secure at all and provides a larger attack surface. On-demand synchronization is much better for business use.

Here are the features that will help employees get up and running quickly. 

Cloud Drive Mapping

Drive mapping is an important feature for online file access. End users can easily drag and drop files and folders from a mapped drive over the Internet. Drive mapping also helps manage external file references.

Global File Locking

File locking is an important feature for online file access and team collaboration to avoid conflicts. End users need to control global concurrent online file access by using file locking to maintain consistency.

Seamless Transition

From Active Directory identities to NTFS file permissions and folder protection, all the things an employee is familiar with remain as if nothing has changed. Similar and consistent user interface approach minimizes the user learning curve.

Here are the features that give you a SharePoint-like user experience.

Productivity

Make it easier for your teams to collaborate with customers successfully:

Outlook Integration

Instead of sending files as Outlook attachments, files and folders can be shared as links via Outlook.

Send Large Files

Enhance large file transfers' performance by only sending the changes that were made instead of synchronizing the entire file.

Share Files and Folders

Files and folders can be turned into weblinks and accessed from web browsers or any mobile client.

Receive Files and Folders

Weblinks can be generated for web browser-based upload to receive files and folders.

Advanced Sharing

Policies such as expiration dates and read/write permissions can be attached to file sharing.

Desktop Integration

File-sharing can be as easy as right-click on a file from within Windows Explorer.

Security

Secure Data Room

Shared folders have optional secure data room features to enable view-only permissions that disable downloads.

Granular Folder

Define different permissions for folders at different levels of the directory structure.

Domain Control

The destination email domain is one of the white list parameters that control who can receive file-sharing invitations.

IP Address Control

The destination IP Address is another parameter to control who can be the receiver for a file-sharing action.

Collaboration

Co-Editing

Integrates with Office365 to take advantage of built-in co-editing features.

Notification

Keep track of important changes and events in the system.

Do you want to make these features available to your remote workers?

Offline Editing

A traditional VPN requires a stable and active connection to the corporate firewall to function. A disruption in the Internet or an interrupted connection to the firewall interrupts employees' work with unsaved files. With offline editing, remote workers can save and edit documents without an active connection and save the files asynchronously to a corporate file server once the connection is restored.

Always On

A firewall vendor typically offers VPN without an always-on feature. Always-on VPN requires more infrastructure components such as identity servers, authentication servers, compatible clients OS, etc. However, most modern cloud applications are always-on, allowing offline access to files and folders and storing files on a local device before synchronizing them with online servers.

High Performance

Accessing file servers is hardly high-performance, because when a VPN serves as an enabler, file access is done via the SMB/CIFS protocol. First of all, the SMB protocol is not a data streaming protocol with many requests and responses. If we can switch to HTTP streaming for file transfer, performance will improve. Second, HTTP-based file transfer traffic can take advantage of a global content delivery network, so HTTP is faster for cross-continent transfer.

Are you ready to boost mobile productivity and enable your employees to work better from home?