在 Dropbox、Google Drive 或 SharePoint 上运行 AutoCAD 时遇到问题了吗?

在 SharePoint 上修改 CAD 绘图时是否出现覆盖彼此的更改?
文件的外部引用是否会不时中断?
您是否需要重组项目结构以便在 SharePoint 或 OneDrive 中腾出空间?
有更好的方法来解决这些问题!

故事 - 一家工程公司试用 SharePoint

一家工程公司使用 SharePoint 已经三年多了。 SharePoint 服务是其 Office 365 订阅的一部分,最初主要用于 Microsoft Teams 和 Office 文档。 最近,他们开始将一些 CAD 文件移到 SharePoint,但遇到了两个问题。

1. 文件锁定问题 - 我们说的不是有关需要分先后更改文件,而是关于同步和锁定文件造成文件损坏的问题。 您可以将 CAD 绘图视为一组文件,这些文件与一个锁文件组合在一起。 因此,如果没有文件锁定,就不是原子更新。

2. 外部参考 (XREF) - 因为他们使用来自 Windows 机器的文件,所以有一个 OneDrive 文件夹。 但是对于 OneDrive 文件夹,任何更新文件的人都会将外部引用更改为“C:\users\joe-or-john\OneDrive”,因此所有计算机上的路径都不相同。

文件夹权限?

另一个故事涉及一家不使用 Office 365 的 OneDrive 或 SharePoint 的建筑公司,因为权限结构对他们来说非常重要。 由于公司从事电气安装业务,项目文件夹较多,因此对各个项目设置了权限结构。 OneDrive 文件夹的同步会破坏权限。

以下是将 AutoCAD 与云存储解决方案(例如 SharePoint、OneDrive、Google Drive 或 Dropbox)结合使用时最常提到的三个问题领域。 如果您有一个可以解决这三个问题的云存储解决方案,那就再好不过了。

文件锁定

您可以将 CAD 绘图视为一组文件,这些文件与一个锁文件组合在一起。 因此,如果没有文件锁定,就不是原子更新。 此外,当与其他计算机同步时,文件锁定有时会采用特定锁定文件的形式,这可能会导致问题。

外部引用

CAD 绘图和 Adobe InDesign 文件会外部引用其它辅助文件材料。 某些外部引用和链接文件具有以驱动器号开头,后跟文件路径的绝对文件名。 当驱动器号或文件路径更改时,引用将被破坏。

文件夹权限

在基于 Windows Active Directory 的文件系统中,文件和文件夹受 NTFS 权限保护。 当文件和文件夹从文件服务器迁移到云存储服务时,文件和文件夹不再有 NTFS 权限。

这些问题的原因是什么?

许多云存储解决方案使用 Dropbox 著名的点对点文件同步。 例如,有一个“Dropbox”文件夹,用户可以在其中放置文件,放置在Dropbox 文件夹中的任何文件都会与其他计算机上的Dropbox 文件夹同步。 此文件模式对于 SharePoint 和 OneDrive 也是相同的。 SharePoint 和 OneDrive 位于 Windows 资源管理器的收藏夹面板上。 SharePoint 和 OneDrive 中对文件的更改首先与 SharePoint 的云服务同步,然后传输到其他用户的计算机。

因为这种文件操作模式不同于传统的文件服务器网络共享,文件锁定、外部引用和文件夹权限与以前不同。

从源头上解决这些问题

这些问题的根源是点对点文件同步:SharePoint、OneDrive 和 Dropbox 与用户的计算机共享此文件同步设计。 Google Drive 有 File Stream Desktop Drive Mapping 应用程序,它不完全是点对点文件同步。 但是,Google Drive 并没有提供原始的 NTFS 文件和文件夹权限控制。

为了解决这个问题,我们需要将文件和文件夹移回文件服务器,以便可以进行文件锁定和文件夹权限控制,并使用映射驱动器来满足文件中的外部引用。 同时,我们还可以将 SharePoint 或类似 OneDrive 的功能引入 Windows 文件服务器。

解决方案#1 - Lift and Shift

Lift and Shift 是一种迁移策略,它在 Azure、AWS 或区域托管数据中心创建另一组虚拟机,并将本地文件服务器上的数据移动到数据中心内的虚拟机。 数据迁移完成后,文件服务器的DNS名称可以从本地文件服务器快速切换到云端文件服务器。 在这类过程中,lift-and-shift 也称为重新托管。 这是一种将数据从本地迁移到云端的相对快速且性价比高的方式,最好的部分是它在 DNS 重定向后向后兼容。

解决方案#2 - 混合云和本地文件服务器

当办公室的互联网速度很快时,Lift-and-shift 更容易。 因此,办公室防火墙和云虚拟网络之间的站点到站点 VPN 就像本地网络的一部分。

混合云文件服务器很好地平衡了本地文件服务器和云文件服务器,因此本地办公室的员工仍然可以通过本地网络使用文件服务器。

为什么当 SharePoint 不起作用时 Triofox 会有所帮助?

Triofox方案

借助 Gladinet Triofox,云文件访问解决方案可与现有文件服务器网络共享互操作,并提供脱机文件夹功能。 它包括与 Active Directory 的集成、云驱动器映射、全局文件锁定和 NTFS 权限控制。 这些集成使文件共享解决方案成为当前文件服务器的扩展,而不是另一个带走数据的数据孤岛。

映射驱动器

通过HTTPS通道将驱动器映射到公司文件服务器是一项关键功能。 员工熟悉映射的驱动器,因此不需要额外培训。

Active Directory

公司用户在 Active Directory 和相关的 Active Directory 联合身份验证服务以及 SAML 单点登录中已经具有公司身份。 他们不需要另一套凭据即可访问文件共享解决方案。

文件锁定

大多数文件共享解决方案以“文件签入”和“签出”的形式提供手动文件锁定。 Gladinet 通过检测文件打开请求提供自动文件锁定。 当 Microsoft Word 打开文件时,文件锁定过程将自动启动,并在文件编辑完成时自动完成。

文件权限

最后,与 Active Directory 和 NTFS 权限集成使系统管理员可以更轻松地设置权限控制。 权限功能使 Gladinet 解决方案在同行中脱颖而出。

您将通过将这些功能添加到文件服务器来解决问题!

离线编辑

传统 VPN 需要与企业防火墙建立稳定且活跃的连接才能运行。 Internet 中断或防火墙连接中断会中断员工处理未保存文件的工作。 通过离线编辑,远程工作人员可以在没有连接的情况下保存和编辑文档,并在连接恢复后将文件异步保存到公司文件服务器。

永远在线

防火墙供应商通常提供的 VPN没有永远在线功能。 永远在线的 VPN 需要更多的基础设施组件,如身份服务器、身份验证服务器、兼容的客户端操作系统等。 然而,大多数现代云应用程序都是永远在线的,允许离线访问文件和文件夹,并在与在线服务器同步之前将文件存储在本地设备上。

高性能

访问文件服务器几乎不可能是高性能的,因为当 VPN 作为启动器时,文件访问是通过 SMB/CIFS 协议完成的。 首先,SMB 协议是一个不允许有很多请求和响应的数据流协议。 如果我们可以切换到 HTTP 流进行文件传输,性能将会提高。 其次,基于 HTTP 的文件传输流量可以利用全球内容交付网络,因此跨大陆传输的 HTTP 速度更快。

Windows 和 Mac

通过 Windows 上的驱动器号和 Mac 上的挂载卷远程访问文件共享。

按需同步

通过仅自动同步和缓存你所需文件来最大程度地减少存储和带宽消耗。

端点保护

加密远程代理缓存或从中央管理控制台撤消远程代理访问权限。

离线访问

在断开 Internet 连接的离线模式下访问共享文件和文件夹,并在重新上线时进行同步。

文件夹权限

在目录结构的不同级别为文件夹定义不同的权限或直接从 NTFS 权限继承。

混合云文件服务器

Triofox 可以将本地文件服务器镜像到云存储,用于混合云服务器设置。

Active Directory

您可以为从内部 Active Directory 用户到外部客户端和合作伙伴的文件夹共享定义用户权限。

版本控制

Triofox 将版本控制和文件保护从云存储添加到本地文件服务器。

云驱动解决问题

结合本地文件服务器的云移动功能

Triofox 使用一组类似 SharePoint 的功能扩展了文件服务器,包括基于 Web 的访问和文件共享。 同时,它保留了文件服务器的文件锁定、Active Directory 集成和权限控制。 这种组合解决了文件锁定、外部引用和文件夹权限的问题。

停用文件服务器

企业发现自己每隔几年就必须购买新的文件服务器。 通过使用 Triofox 将文件共享迁移到云,可以消除这些资本支出。 用户可以在不中断的情况下继续处理现有文件共享,一旦迁移完成,文件服务器就可以停用。

远程访问和文件共享

使用任何计算机或设备上熟悉的界面,简化对文件共享的远程访问。 Windows和Mac桌面在Explorer和Finder中显示本机映射的驱动器。 可以在iOS和Android设备(如iPad,iPhone和Pixels)上提供相同的体验,也可以从流行的Web浏览器(如Chrome,Firefox 和Internet Explorer)查看相同的体验。

简化文件共享访问

通过为业务合作伙伴提供对有限内部文件或文件夹集的访问权限,可以轻松地与他们合作。 与非AD用户共享文件,同时保持管理控制权。 通过自动版本控制和文件锁定来简化多站点协作。

通过替换VPN降低成本

消除通常与VPN文件共享,Always On VPN或Direct Access相关的开销和维护票单。 自动使用现有用户和权限以节省设置时间和金钱。 在没有 VPN 连接的情况下,云映射驱动器始终处于开启状态。

简化管理

无需在本地管理服务器,停用服务器,迁移到云中。 集中管理每个租户的用户、访问控制和存储。 轻松跟踪数据的位置、访问权限以及共享方式。

集中管理权限

为了获得完全的控制和可见性,从作为其来源的文件服务器或本地使用 Triofox 管理精细权限。 如果文件服务器退役,Triofox 将成为新的权限主机。

维护合规性

集中管理每个租户的用户、访问控制和存储。 轻松跟踪数据的位置、访问权限以及共享方式。 管理员可以执行 GDPR 和 HIPAA 合规性审核,或跟踪对单个文件所做的任何更改。

提高工作效率

提供一个永远在线的映射驱动器,可以在任何设备上的任何地方工作,并允许移动用户轻松访问内部文件共享或云文件服务器。 用户已经熟悉映射驱动器,无需额外培训。

增强数据安全性

数据保护带有军用级加密、安全连接等。 自动使用现有用户和权限以节省设置时间和金钱。

按需同步

云映射驱动器利用本地缓存和按需下载来减少带宽使用和端点存储消耗。 云映射驱动器技术适用于带有小型本地 SSD 驱动器的笔记本电脑。

私人白标解决方案

Triofox 提供了一个白标解决方案,使企业可以轻松构建基于当前 Active Directory 和文件服务器基础架构的自主管理文件共享解决方案。

私有云替代方案

对于数据隐私、安全和控制,Triofox 提供了一个更好的替代 Dropbox 和 SharePoint 的方法,使用任何私有云或本地文件服务器网络共享。

提高移动员工的远程工作效率!

Having trouble running AutoCAD on Dropbox, Google Drive, or SharePoint?

Do you overwrite each other's changes when you modify CAD drawings on SharePoint?
Do the file's external references break from time to time?
Have you restructured your project structure to make room in SharePoint or OneDrive?
There is a better way to solve these problems!

A story - An engineering firm tries out SharePoint

An engineering firm has been using SharePoint for over three years. The SharePoint service was part of their Office 365 subscription and was initially used primarily for Microsoft Teams and Office documents. Recently, they started moving some CAD files to SharePoint and ran into two issues.

1. The File Lock Issue - it's not specifically about the need to change the file sequentially, but rather about the sync and lock file corrupting the files. You can think of the drawing CAD as a bunch of files grouped together with a lock file. Thus, without file locking, it is not an atomic update.

2. External Reference (XREF) - Since they use the files from Windows machines, there is a OneDrive folder. But with the OneDrive folder, anyone updating the file changes the external reference to "C:\users\joe-or-john\OneDrive" so the path is not the same on all machines.

Folder permissions?

Another story involves a construction company that does not use Office 365's OneDrive or SharePoint because the permissions structure is very important to them. Since the company is in the electrical installation business and there are many project folders, permission structures have been set for the various projects. The synchronization of OneDrive folders breaks the permission.

Below are the three most commonly cited problem areas when using AutoCAD with a cloud storage solution such as SharePoint, OneDrive, Google Drive or Dropbox. It would be best if you had a cloud storage solution that could resolve these three issues. 

File Locking

You can think of the CAD drawing as a bunch of files grouped together with a lock file. So without file locking, it is not an atomic update. Also, file locking sometimes takes the form of a specific lock file when synchronized with other computers, which can cause problems.

External Reference

CAD drawings and Adobe InDesign files have external references to other supporting materials in the form of files. Some external references and link files have an absolute file name that begins with a drive letter followed by a file path. When the drive letter or file path changes, the references are broken.

Folder Permissions

In a Windows Active Directory -based file system, files and folders are protected by NTFS permissions. When the files and folders are migrated from the file servers to cloud storage services, there are no longer NTFS permissions for the files and folders.

What is the cause of these problems?

Many cloud storage solutions use peer-to-peer file synchronization made famous by Dropbox. For example, there is a "Dropbox" folder where users can place files, and any file placed in the Dropbox folder is synced with Dropbox folders on other computers. This file mode is also the same for SharePoint and OneDrive. SharePoint and OneDrive are located on the Favorites panel of Windows Explorer. Changes to files in SharePoint and OneDrive are first synchronized with SharePoint's cloud service and then transferred to other users' computers.

Because this file operation mode is different from traditional file server network sharing, file locking, external references, and folder permissions are not the same as before.

Solve these problems at the source

The source of these issues is peer-to-peer file sync: SharePoint, OneDrive and Dropbox share this file sync design with users' computers. Google Drive has the File Stream Desktop Drive Mapping application, which is not exactly peer-to-peer file synchronization. However, Google Drive does not provide the original NTFS permission control for files and folders.

To solve the problem, we need to move files and folders back to the file servers so that it is possible to perform file locking and folder permissions and use a mapped drive to satisfy external references in a file. At the same time, we can also bring SharePoint or OneDrive-like functionality to a Windows file server. 

Solution #1 - Lift and Shift

Lift-and-Shift is a migration strategy that creates another set of virtual machines in Azure, AWS, or a regional co-location data center and moves the data on the on-premises file server to the virtual machines in the data centers. Once the data migration is complete, the DNS name for the file server can be quickly switched from the on-premises file server to the file server in the cloud. In this type of procedure, lift-and-shift is also known as rehosting. It is a relatively fast and cost-effective way to migrate data from on-premises to the cloud, and the best part is that it is backward compatible after DNS redirection.

Solution #2 - Hybrid Cloud and Local File Server

Lift-and-shift is easier when the Internet in the office is fast. Therefore, a site-to-site VPN between the office firewall and the cloud virtual network acts like part of the local network.

The hybrid cloud file server is a good balance between the local file server and the cloud file server, so employees in the local office can still use the file server over a local network.

Why Triofox helps when SharePoint doesn't work?

Triofox Solution

With Gladinet Triofox, the cloud file access solution is interoperable with existing file server network shares and provides offline folder capabilities. It includes integration with Active Directory, cloud drive mapping, global file locking and NTFS permission control. These native integrations make the file sharing solution an extension of the current file server rather than another data silo that takes away data.

Mapped Drive

Mapped drive over the HTTPS channel to the corporate file server is a crucial feature. Employees are familiar with a mapped drive, and no additional training is required.

Active Directory

Corporate users already have corporate identities in Active Directory and related Active Directory federation service and SAML single-sign-on. They don't need yet another set of credentials to access a file-sharing solution.

File Locking

Most file-sharing solutions offer manual file locking in the forms of "file check-in" and "check out." Gladinet provides automatic file locking by detecting file opening requests. When Microsoft Word opens a file, the file locking process will be initiated automatically and finished automatically when the file editing finishes.

File Permissions

Finally, integrating with Active Directory and NTFS permission makes it easier for system administrators to set up the permission control. The permission features make the Gladinet solution stands out among its peers.

You will solve the problems by adding these features to a file server!

Offline Editing

A traditional VPN requires a stable and active connection to the corporate firewall to function. A disruption in the Internet or an interrupted connection to the firewall interrupts employees' work with unsaved files. With offline editing, remote workers can save and edit documents without an active connection and save the files asynchronously to a corporate file server once the connection is restored.

Always On

A firewall vendor typically offers VPN without an always-on feature. Always-on VPN requires more infrastructure components such as identity servers, authentication servers, compatible clients OS, etc. However, most modern cloud applications are always-on, allowing offline access to files and folders and storing files on a local device before synchronizing them with online servers.

High Performance

Accessing file servers is hardly high-performance, because when a VPN serves as an enabler, file access is done via the SMB/CIFS protocol. First of all, the SMB protocol is not a data streaming protocol with many requests and responses. If we can switch to HTTP streaming for file transfer, performance will improve. Second, HTTP-based file transfer traffic can take advantage of a global content delivery network, so HTTP is faster for cross-continent transfer.

Windows & Mac

Remote access to file shares via a drive letter on Windows and a mounted volume on Mac.

On-Demand Synchronization

Minimize storage and bandwidth consumption by automatically synchronizing and caching only the files you need.

Endpoint Protection

Encrypt remote agent caches or revoke remote agent access privileges from a central management console.

Offline Access

Access shared files and folders in an offline mode, disconnected from the Internet, and synchronize them when back online.

Folder Permissions

Define different permissions for folders at different levels of the directory structure or inherit from NTFS permissions directly.

Hybrid Cloud File Server

Triofox can mirror a local file server into cloud storage for a hybrid cloud server setup.

Active Directory

You can define user rights for folder sharing from internal Active Directory users to external clients and partners.

Version Control

Triofox adds version control and file protection from cloud storage to the local file server.

CLOUD DRIVE SOLVES THE PROBLEMS

Cloud Mobility Features in Conjunction with Local File Server

Triofox extends a file server with a set of SharePoint-like features, including web-based access and file sharing. At the same time, it preserves the file server's file locking, active directory integration, and permission controls. This combination solves the problem of file locking, external references, and folder permissions.

Retire File Servers

Businesses find themselves having to purchase new file servers every few years. These capital expenditures can be eliminated by migrating file shares to the cloud with Triofox. Users can continue to work on the existing file shares without disruption and the file server can be retired once the migration is completed.

Remote Access and File Sharing

Simplify remote access and file sharing with familiar interfaces on any computer or device. Windows and Mac desktops display natively mapped drives in Explorer and Finder. That same experience is presented on iOS and Android devices like iPads, iPhones and Pixels or can be viewed from popular web browsers like Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer.

Simplify File Shares Access

Easily collaborate with business partners by providing them with access to a limited set of internal files or folders. Share files with non-AD users while maintaining administrative controls. Simplify multi-site collaboration with automatic version controls and file locking.

Reduce Costs by Replacing VPN

Eliminate the overhead and support tickets commonly associated with VPN file sharing, Always On VPN or Direct Access. Automatically use existing users and permissions to save setup time and money. The cloud mapped drive is always-on without the VPN connections.

Simplify Management

Eliminate the need to manage servers on-premises by retiring them to the cloud. Centrally manage users, access controls, and storage for each tenant. Easily keep track of where the data is, who has access and how it’s being shared.

Centrally Manage Permissions

For complete control and visibility, granular permissions can be managed from the file server that was their source, or natively with Triofox. If the file server is retired, Triofox becomes the new permissions master.

Maintain Compliance

Centrally manage users, access controls, and storage for each tenant. Easily keep track of where the data is, who has access and how it’s being shared. Admins can perform audits of GDPR and HIPAA compliance or keep track of any changes that have been made to individual files.

Increase Productivity

Provide an always-on mapped drive that works anywhere on any device and allows mobile users to easily access internal file shares or cloud file servers. Users are already familiar with the mapped drive, and no extra training is required.

Enhance Data Security

Data protection comes with military-grade encryption, secure connections, and more. Automatically use existing users and permissions to save setup time and money.

On-Demand Synchronization

Cloud mapped drive leverage local cache and on-demand download to reduce bandwidth usage and endpoint storage consumption. Cloud mapped drive technology works with a laptop with a small local SSD drive.

Private White Labeled Solution

Triofox provides a white-labeled solution that makes it easy for enterprises to build a self-hosted file sharing solution based on current Active Directory and file server infrastructure.

A Private Cloud Alternative

For data privacy, security, and control, Triofox provides a better alternative to Dropbox and SharePoint using any private cloud or on-premise file server network shares.

Ready to boost mobile productivity and enable the workforce to better work from home today?